OzTREKK - Study in Australia OzTREKK - Study in Australia OzTREKK - Study in Australia
Undergraduate Programs
College Articulation
Occupational Therapy
Veterinary Science
Study Abroad

Undergraduate Science Programs in Australia

  • Overview - Science Programs in Australia
  • Bond University Science Programs
  • Griffith University  Science Programs
  • James Cook University  Science Programs
  • Macquarie University  Science Programs
  • Monash University Science Programs
  • University of Melbourne Science Programs
  • University of Newcastle Science Programs
  • University of Queensland Science Programs
  • University of Sydney Science Programs

University of Queensland Undergraduate Science Degrees

The studies of science at the University of Queensland are offered through two different faculties.

The Faculty of Science at the University of Queensland embraces some of the key areas of science for the 21st century, and takes great pride in its undergraduate and postgraduate teaching programs. Their Schools and Centres range from the study of chemistry through molecular and cellular biology, whole organism biology of animals, plants and micro-organisms, to studies of ecology and the environment. The Faculty also has great strength in biomedical sciences (physiology, pharmacology, anatomy, biochemistry and microbiology), in materials and biological chemistry, in molecular plant science, in environmental science and ecology.

The School of Physical Sciences consists of Earth Sciences, Mathematics and Physics as well as a number of associated centres. The School of Physical Sciences also has an impressive research record and its achievements are recognized both nationally and internationally as measures of research excellence. Many of the School's researchers are internationally respected and regarded among the best in the world in their field.

The Faculty of Science at the University of Queensland comprises the following schools:
  • School of Agriculture and Food Sciences
  • School of Biological Sciences
  • School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences
  • School of Earth Sciences
  • School of Geography, Planning & Environmental Management
  • School of Mathematics and Physics
  • School of Veterinary Science

The faculty unites the disciplines of biomedical and biological sciences, chemistry, earth sciences, geographical planning, maths and physics, and marine and environmental sciences. It aims to focus on learning and research in the areas of climate change, sustainability and other vital scientific areas, and develop strong links between the enabling and applied sciences. The development of alternative sources of fuel, better treatment for illness, eradication of disease and rehabilitation of the environment are just some of the ground-breaking projects UQ scientists and graduates are working on today.

The faculty has a distinguished international record and a range of unique features as evidenced by the following:

  • ranked 21st in the world in biological sciences in the prestigious 2013/14 QS World University Rankings by Subject;
  • ranked in the top three Australian institutions in the fields of molecular biology/genetics, biology and biochemistry, chemistry, pharmacology, microbiology, ecology/environment, and plant and animal science, according to total citations based on papers published and cited in Thomson Reuters-indexed journals between 2003 and 2007;
  • boasts Australia's most extensive marine science teaching and research facilities, with field stations on the Great Barrier Reef (Heron Island), Low Isles and Moreton Bay (North Stradbroke Island);
  • features commercial aquaculture facilities; and
  • houses Australia's most comprehensive range of electron optical instrumentation, within UQ's Centre for Microscopy and Microanalysis.

UQ's Faculty of Science offers the following undergraduate science programs:

Bachelor of Advanced Science (Honours)
Bachelor of Agribusiness
Bachelor of Agricultural Science (Honours)
Bachelor of Biomedical Science
Bachelor of Biomedical Science/Bachelor of Science
Bachelor of Biotechnology
Bachelor of Environmental Management
Bachelor of Environmental Science (Honours)
Bachelor of Equine Science (Honours)
Bachelor of Food Technology
Bachelor of Mathematics
Bachelor of Occupational Health & Safety Science (Honours)
Bachelor of Regional and Town Planning
Bachelor of Science
Bachelor of Sustainable Agriculture (Honours)
Bachelor of Veterinary Technology
Bachelor of Wildlife Science (Honours)

The Bachelor of Science allows students to choose a major from one of the following study areas:
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Bioinformatics, Biomedical Science, Biophysics, Chemical Sciences, Computer Science, Ecology, Genetics, Geographical Sciences, Geological Sciences, Marine Science, Mathematics, Microbiology, Physics, Plant Science, Psychology, Statistics, Zoology

OzTREKK Admissions Officer: Charlynn Lecompte

Only OzTREKK gives you invaluable guidance and inside information about Australian universities—for free.